IMANE Honors Physicians at its 37th Annual Gala

From left to right: Dr. Trivedi, Dr. Sheth, Rep. Khan, Ms. Khan and Dr. Bhadelia. (Photo: Rasik Mehta)

From left to right: Dr. Trivedi, Dr. Sheth, Rep. Khan, Ms. Khan and Dr. Bhadelia. (Photo: Rasik Mehta)

BURLINGTON, MA—The Indian Medical Association of New England, known as IMANE, honored its peers at the organization’s 37th annual gala at Burlington Marriott Hotel on Saturday. IMANE’s Community Service Award for excellence in serving the community was given to Dr. Manju Sheth, a former president of IMANE. The Distinguished Service Award for distinguished service to IMANE and the community went to Dr. Manorama Mathur, a former IMANE president and former chair of the organization’s board of trustees.

IMANE  also introduced a new Enhancement Award this year. The inaugural

Dr. Sheth

Dr. Sheth

Enhancement Award, with a cash prize of $5,000, went to Dr. Suresh Reddy for extraordinary accomplishments in enhancing and advancing the name of IMANE in the community. This award was presented and funded by Hemraj Goyal Foundation.

Dr. Sheth, an internist who works at Lahey Health, has been a big advocate of empowerment of women and in recent years had led many fundraisers for local charities, including Saheli, an organization dedicated to supporting and empowering South Asian women and families in New England.

“I am blessed to get this award from Guest of Honor Representative Kay Khan, the wife of a man who taught me the importance of giving back in life,” said Dr. Sheth. “It was an honor for me to start my IMANE journey with my mentor Dr. Nasir A Khan .We sadly lost him in April 2014 but he will always live in our hearts. Thank you IMANE award committee for giving me this award.”

Dr. Reddy

Dr. Reddy

Dr. Reddy, who could not attend the event, has been an active member of IMANE and is currently treasurer of American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (AAPI). He is an Endovascular and Interventional Neuroradiologist at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston.

Dr. Reddy received his initial medical education from Osmania/Kakatiya Medical College, Residency from SUNY Stony Brook and Clinical Fellowship in Interventional Neuroradiology from Harvard Medical school. He has been serving on the faculty of Harvard Medical School as Interventional Neuroradiologist for past 15 years. He has been awarded ‘Resident Research Award’ and ‘Teacher of the year Award’ four times. Dr. Reddy has served on the committee of IMANE as the Executive Committee member and Chaired Sub Committees.

IMANE President Dr. Seema Arora said that Dr. Reddy will donate the cash award to IMANE and AAPI.

“Dr Suresh Reddy has declared to me that he would like to donate $2,500 to IMANE charitable fund and $2,500 to AAPI charitable fund out of the $5,000 that he has received from IMANE as cash award for IMANE Enhancement Award,” Dr. Arora told INDIA New England News.

Dr. Mathur

Dr. Mathur

Dr. Mathur, who received the Distinguished Service Award,  is 2008 President of IMANE. She served as chair of IMANE’s Board of trustees. A graduate of Lucknow University, she has been in private practice for almost 30n years and is a part of Pediatrics Physicians Organization of Children’s Hospital. Dr. Mathur has mentored young physicians.

IMANE’s Ambassador award went to Dr. Tapasya Shrivastava, an internal medicine physician working with Pentucket Medical Associantes affiliated with Massachusetts General Hospital. She serves on IMANE’s executive committee.

IMANE’s outgoing president also gives out President Awards to its members each year. This year, the President Award was given to Dr Geeta Trivedi, Dr. Sameer Kapasi and Dr. Paul Mathew. All the three recipients of this award are the members of the IMANE executive committee.

Related News

Comments are closed

Indian American Daily

1344 Main Street
Waltham, MA 02451

Sign-up for our free newsletter


Indian American Daily 2015 All rights reserved